Making Mincemeat…

As promised, here is the report of the mincemeat making!  It was very straightforward to do, using Delia’s tried and tested recipe.  I didn’t have Delia’s original Christmas book, so was thrilled to receive her new version, Delia’s Happy Christmas as a birthday gift.

I can’t stand the pips in currants, so I substituted extra sultanas and raisins.  I also have an aversion to mixed peel (I like most things, honestly!!) so I did include it, but in a smaller quantity.  I added natural glace cherries to make up the weight.  The whole bowl goes into a low oven for three hours – a delightful smell – I hope it makes good mince pies!

Here is the bowl of fruits prior to heating.

Mincemeat Bowl

And the finished product!

Mincemeat Jar

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

