Lemon Drizzle Cake for a Sunny Spring Day

An old favourite, but I had a lovely big bowl of lemons in the kitchen and just fancied making this on a sunny afternoon.  I took this to a friend’s house and we enjoyed a slice with a strong cup of coffee after a delicious meal this evening.  I had these dear little pink sugar flowers in the cupboard and couldn’t resist sitting some in the sugary glaze on top of the cake.  This means that they stick beautifully – no need for edible glue today.

I’ve been so busy over the past few weeks that it temporarily slipped my mind that I have been meaning to bake a batch of the next big thing in the cake world – the Whoopie Pie.  I’m just deciding which recipe to try and then I’ll report back…

I’m wearing a Cath Kidston vintage apron in this photo – shame on me that it is not a Lavender Sugar apron! This is a treasured birthday gift from a dear friend, so I think I can get away with it…

KM

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

