Home Baked Bread

Today I made three loaves of bread using a recipe by Paul Merrett from the ‘Economy Gastronomy’ book (great recipes).  This was a fast bread recipe, and made particularly straightforward as I used my mixer with its dough hook attachment to do all the hard work! The crusty loaves have got a lovely texture and I will definitely make this again. One loaf has already disappeared, one is for the weekend and one has gone into the freezer!

I’ve always had the feeling that it wasn’t quite right to make bread without doing everything by hand in the traditional way, but this method worked well for me.  If taking a shortcut means that we can have homemade bread without the flour improvers and preservatives that come in some loaves, in a fraction of the time needed to do it in the old-fashioned way, I’m converted!

KM

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a Reply

