Lovely Mocha Cupcakes

These used to be on Lavender Sugar’s afternoon tea menu, but we recently took them off (as we had so many exciting new flavours to add!) so I had temporarily forgotten about them. Today I was browsing through my baking books and saw the recipe for these and just felt like making a batch. I had a couple of spoons of mocha buttercream frosting left in my mixing bowl when I had topped all the cakes, and after having a couple of tasters, I had to quickly fill the bowl with water so I didn’t eat any more! I was thinking that Mocha might be my favourite, but then I started to think about all the other flavours and I decided that it must depend on my mood. How could I favour a Mocha over a Red Velvet Cupcake, or a Luscious Lemon? And sometimes a basic vanilla cupcake made with top quality ingredients (pure vanilla extract, lovely big and fresh free range eggs…) is just what the Dr ordered.

I’ve had a lovely day today, spending about 4 or 5 hours in the kitchen, trying out all sorts of things. I’ll show you more and let you know how my experiments went later!

KM

Leave a comment

Filed under Afternoon Tea Service, Baking, Cupcakes, Lavender Sugar

Leave a Reply

